If Charlie Brown Had A Garden . . .

. . . it would look a heck of a lot better than this poor excuse.  I am so embarrassed.  My gardens in the past have never been pretty, but they were always productive.  This year the only things to have survived are my two tomato plants.  The store-bought chilies – gone, the nearly two dozen chilies I started from seed – gone.

My pitiful garden

My pitiful garden

 

I don’t know if it was insects, rabbits, or deer that got to them but every single chile plant has been eaten down to the ground.  My money is on the deer.  In the past I have seen them browse on the chile plants.  I would yell at them, threaten to make venison con chile verde out of them.  They would just twitch their ears and go back to browsing.  Cheeky little creatures.   I don’t know why I keep watering the area where they had been planted; maybe I’m hoping for a miracle that I know for a fact will never come.

 

Oh well, at least I have about a half-dozen or so tomatoes on the way as of today.  Maybe I can use them in salads later this summer.  I’m sure there will not be anywhere near enough to do any kind of salsa canning.

DSCF1908

A little tomato

 

I’m already looking into building some raised beds later this fall.  One design that I’m seriously considering would be pretty easy for me to do without too much if any help from Poncho.  The biggest labor issue would be to level out the field where I would want the beds to be.

Until next year, I will continue to nurture my little tomatoes, plan out the raised beds and dream that next year’s harvest will look something like this.  Hey, a girl’s gotta look to the future with hope, right?

 

Chili Peppers

Chili Peppers (Photo credit: camknows)

 

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Creative Non Fiction, Gardening, Stream of Consciousness, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If Charlie Brown Had A Garden . . .

  1. Tina schell says:

    LOL, I love that you posted your disappointment! So many have posted their fabulous successes. Your post makes me feel so much more normal! Food for you–keep trying!

    • Thank you for your kind words. Gardening is just not as easy as it looks. My father always had a beautiful and productive backyard garden. But he also put in A LOT of work. I do admit I simply didn’t have as much time as I would have liked this year, but here’s to next.

Please let me know what you think

