Weekly Photo Challenge – Masterpiece

Masterpiece. No matter where you are (and where you’ve been), I’m certain you’ve stumbled upon something extraordinary: a place that blows your mind; a work of art or object that speaks to you; or even a location or scene that’s special, unusual, or even magical in some way.

Pantheon Dome

Pantheon Dome

For me, when I think of “Masterpiece”, I immediately think of all the spectacular works in Rome.  This is a city that is so old yet still is so vibrant.  One of the most mind-blowing pieces of architecture is the Pantheon.  It was originally built is AD 126 and is still a marvel of building ingenuity. It is also still a functioning church.  The dome of the building is what is most amazing to me.  To this day it is still the largest unreinforced concrete dome.  And the light that comes in from the oculus is truly ethereal.

Front of Pantheon

Front of Pantheon

The Light in The Dome

The Light in The Dome

Inside Looking Out

Inside Looking Out

Pantheon Apse and Alter

Pantheon Apse and Alter

I do realize that using the Pantheon as a “Masterpiece” is also a duplicate of another photo challenge.  But I think it’s safe to say that this architectural wonder can be in two challenges at once.

To see other great “Masterpieces” head over to Weekly Photo Challenge

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge – Masterpiece

  1. I love hats and wear quite a few myself. 🙂 As for Rome, and Italy in general, there are so many masterpieces there and I’d love to go back. Thanks for sharing.

    janet

    • Thank you for your kind words, Janet. I wish we had been able to take pictures of many of the great works, but understandably flash photography isn’t allowed in the museums. But the memories do live on in my mind.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece | Missionary IOU 差情尋

  3. Rome IS full of so many masterpieces — I can’t wait to get back again some day, so many more to discover, (And the Pantheon was amazing – particularly when you consider how long it has been standing.)

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece | Lily Mugford

  5. I love you blog! And I love this Masterpiece!!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece | Life + Snapshots

Please let me know what you think

