The Texture of the Beach

When I am lucky enough to find myself at the beach I am always awestruck by the different textures that greet the eye.

The waves in the sand created by the wind are some of the most beautiful and dynamic.

DSCF1726

DSCF1730

The waves in the sand created by the ocean are also very dynamic.

DSCF2152

DSCF2156

Of course there is the texture of footprints in the sand that seem to invite contemplation.

DSCF2157

Both the wind and the waves create dunes that wrap objects in a blanket of sandy essence.

DSCF1716

DSCF2135

The clouds, as they build and disappate, soften and sometimes hide the beach in their filmy fabric.

DSCF2133

Finally, the layers of water created by the incessant waves invite a trance-like state of mind that closes out everything except the eternal roar of the ocean.

DSCF2137

DSCF2172

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in A View Off The Porch, Creative Non Fiction, Photography, Stream of Consciousness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Texture of the Beach

  1. Jeff says:

    Great post. I never thought about the texture of the sand as I’m on the beach. Actually the beaches I go to are so crowded you don’t even see it.

  2. Lovely photos. I love the patterns the waves and wind leave in the sand…

Please let me know what you think

