Goodbye to Summer

A month ago I posted about how I felt summer was already out of reach.  Well, after that post we had some beautiful summer weather, in fact a couple very hot days.  Of course we had taken down the air conditioner, because I had assured Poncho that we would no longer need it.  Oops!  Luckily we had a window fan that helped circulate the air in the cabin and all was better after sundown.

Well, here it is, 21 September, the last official summer day of 2013 in the Northern Hemisphere.  I thought I would share some pictures of the day and my morning walk.

DSCF2393

This is the sun coming up over the hill of our little dale.  It was quite pretty.

DSCF2406

A little mushroom that had come up over night along our lane.

DSCF2400

The sky was very dynamic along the Gorge this morning.  We are having some unsettled weather due in this weekend.

DSCF2401

Storm clouds are trying to brew.

DSCF2405

I just thought this bug infested stump was interesting.

Well, there you have it.  A view of the last day of summer here in the Pacific Northwest.  I am very anxious to welcome in Autumn.  I think this is the first year I have ever been ready for Fall.

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in A View Off The Porch, Creative Non Fiction, Photography, Stream of Consciousness, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Goodbye to Summer

  1. Today was a beautiful end of summer! We expected rain but ended up with a sunny afternoon at the dog park on the beach. Not a bad way to end the season. 🙂

    • I am so jealous! Those storm clouds actually did form and we have had showers all afternoon and evening. Well, I did say I was ready for fall. Should be more careful what I wish for (hehe).

  2. That’s beautiful 🙂 Welcome autumn!

Please let me know what you think

