The Break-Up

“It’s not a good time for a break-up.”

“It’s never a good time.”

“But what else can I do?  The situation has become unbearable.”

“Are you sure you can’t hold out a little longer?”

“How much longer?”

“At least until the holidays are over.”

“I couldn’t bear another holiday like last year.”

“Was it that bad?”

“Right in the middle of family dinner, it all just fell apart.”

“Really?  What did everybody think?”

“They tried to ignore it but I could tell they were embarrassed.”

“Embarrassed, how?”

“For me mostly, I guess.  They were trying to be supportive, but at some point they just say ‘you know, it’s her choice,’ and walk away.”

“Well, then, I think you’re right.  It’s time.”

I looked into the mirror at the peep-toe stilettos on my feet.  The right  showed obvious signs of having the heel broke and the ankle strap torn.  They were not going to make it through another holiday party season.

I bent down and took them off.  I gazed at my favorite dress shoes wistfully as I walked over to the trash.

“Good-bye.  You’ve been good to me but it’s time I let you go.”

They made a mournful thud at the bottom of the trash.

I looked away before I could start crying.

“Let’s go shopping!”

A smile tugged at the corners of my lips.  Yes, rebound shopping is always the best.

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think

