A View Off The Porch – Sunday Drive

Have you ever had one of those days, weeks, months?  Well, the past month has kinda gotten to me and I just had to run away for awhile.  About four hours to be specific. I took a brief road trip up the Columbia River Gorge.  It is so beautiful right now in the throws of autumn with a bright sun shining down.  Today is suppose to be the last day of nice weather for several days and I just needed to get out by myself and drive.  For me, driving allows me to let go of all sorts of issues that are bothering me.  I stopped at a rest area/viewpoint a few miles east of Bingen, Washington.  I couldn’t believe how warm it was or the fact that there was no wind to speak of.  Anyone who has been through this area knows that wind is a fact of life here.  But today it was perfectly quiet, as was the river.

This first shot is looking east.

DSCF2472

This next shot is looking mostly south towards the Oregon side.  Even here in the Pacific Northwest we have incredible mesas.

DSCF2485

And here is a look down the river towards the west.  You can catch a glimpse of a tug boat and barge heading down river.

DSCF2473

The north view provides some stunning rock outcroppings.

DSCF2477

Finally on the drive back I was able to capture Mt. Hood peeking through the foothills.

DSCF2486

It’s amazing how getting out of one’s head space can immediately improve one’s outlook.  I’m in a much better frame of mind and can approach life’s issues with a clearer head.  Here’s to a great Sunday Drive

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in A View Off The Porch, Photography, Stream of Consciousness, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A View Off The Porch – Sunday Drive

  1. I can relate to the driving to clear your mind thing. In combination with beautiful nature, like on your photos, I can’t imagine anything better to get back on track/release some stress. I ppreciate this kind of posts a lot, normal human being posts 🙂 Thank you!

    PS. I checked out your project with the cabin. Nice! Would love to read more about that in the future.
    /Maria

    http://discoveringranchlife.com

    • Thanks! I have not felt very inspired lately and just getting out helped a lot. Plus it gave me something to write about. I’m glad you checked out our cabin. He have been living in it since June. I just can’t seem to get over to that page and finish it up.

      Cheers!

  2. I love Sunday drives, we try to take these kind’s of road trips because they are very cheap but can be full of surprises. Thanks for sharing, now I have the itch to explore.

  3. mithriluna says:

    What a beautiful drive!

Please let me know what you think

