Comfort Cuisine – Sausage Black Bean Posole

During the fall and winter months, I prepare a lot of soups and stews.  They are rich and hearty, and seem to warm a body even better than a crackling fire.  One of my go to recipes is one that I originally got from one of my sisters and have adjusted to fit Poncho’s and my taste preferences.  It is incredibly simple, a one pot concoction, and uses ingredients that are almost always found in my pantry.  I hope you enjoy this Sausage Black Bean Posole.

DSCF2488
1    12 oz (340 g) package sausage. I prefer a reduced fat product and add olive oil while cooking to keep the sausage from sticking.
1    29 oz (822 g) can Gold Hominy
1    15 oz (425 g) can black beans, rinsed
2     15 oz (425 g) cans stewed or diced tomatoes
2    Cups (473 ml) frozen hash brown potatoes – I use two cups dehydrated potatoes put in warm water to hydrate.
4    Cups (946 ml) chicken broth – I use 4 cups water with two tablespoons chicken soup base stirred in.
1    Tsp Dried Oregano
1    Tbsp minced Garlic – I use 1/2 Tsp garlic powder.
1/2    Tsp Red Chile Powder
1    Bell Pepper diced – Green if you prefer the bite, Red if you prefer the sweet.

In a large stock pot, brown sausage.

DSCF2495

Add chicken broth, hominy, black beans, tomatoes, potatoes, oregano, chile powder, garlic.

DSCF2496

Bring to a boil.  Add Bell Pepper.  Reduce heat.  Simmer for 30 minutes.

DSCF2497

Remove from heat and serve.

DSCF2499

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Comfort Cuisine, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think

