The Joy of Fallen Leaves

Another beautiful day here in the Pacific Northwest.  Autumn just doesn’t get any better than this.  We have had about two weeks of dry sunny weather.

DSCF2530

Today on my walk I was taken by all of the leaves that have dropped from the big leaf maples.  Normally I am not too thrilled by these leaves because I see them as a maintenance nightmare.  However, something changed my mind today; if only for a day.  I rediscovered the joy of running, jumping, and kicking through fallen leaves.  Okay, so at my age I wasn’t running or jumping, but I was certainly stomping and kicking the leaves where ever Mother Nature had swept them into piles.  At first I avoided the leaves.  They do make quite a sound when they are dry and crunchy.  But after the first couple of missteps of traipsing onto the leaves the urge to do it again took over.  Pretty soon I was plowing my way through piles where ever I found them.

DSCF2532

Then and old memory came back to me of my best friend and I playing with autumn leaves.  We were and still are horse crazy.  At this particular time we were both taking horseback riding lessons and were doing hunter jumper.  So instead of raking the leaves in my backyard into one big pile that normal kids do, we created a hunter jumper course with the leaves.  Then we “rode” through the course.  Even my mother got a kick out of our “fences” when she looked out her bedroom window and saw what we had done.

This was a much-needed moment for me in that we have had to deal with some family shenanigans recently, and will have to continue to do so in the foreseeable future.  Right now, if I can give one truly heartfelt piece of advice to anyone out there it would be “Don’t do business with family”.    No matter how well you think you have crossed all the T’s and dotted all the I’s, somehow, somewhere down the line you will be taken advantage of.

But enough said for now.  If you have an opportunity today, get outside and kick up some leaves.  I guarantee it will put a smile on your face.  And let Fido or Fluffy in on the fun too, if they are so inclined.

DSCF2529

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in A View Off The Porch, Creative Non Fiction, Stream of Consciousness, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joy of Fallen Leaves

  1. Oh yes, fall leaves are a maintenance nightmare but so fun when you try not to think about it!

Please let me know what you think

