Comfort Cuisine – Cocoa Whisky Balls

DSCF2654

I really have a love/hate relationship with this time of year.  The days are getting quite short here in the Pacific Northwest, and will continue to do so for the next six weeks; and it is becoming very dreary with the overcast skies and drizzle or rain that is our constant companion now.  But there is the food.  Oh, the holiday cooking and baking is coming into full swing.  I will very likely be sharing many of my favorite recipes in the weeks to come as I begin to prepare them more often.

One I would like to share today is an easy, no bake confection that I only make this time of year.  The only reason for this stricture is if I made it all the time I would not fit through the front door after the third or fourth batch.  This recipe is based on the old stand-by Cocoa Rum Balls.  I use whisky, frankly, because I love the taste.  And for those who wish to abstain from alcohol, or are fixing treats for the under 21 crowd, substituting orange juice for the whisky makes for a wonderful flavor.  So here we go.

Cocoa Whisky Balls

Ingredients
Original recipe makes 4 dozen

1 (12 ounce) package vanilla wafers, crushed
1 1/2 cups chopped nuts
3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/4 cup cocoa
1/2 cup  Whisky
3 tablespoons light corn syrup
1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

Directions
In a large bowl, combine vanilla wafer crumbs, chopped nuts, 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar, and cocoa.

DSCF2656

Mix in rum and corn syrup.

DSCF2657

Shape dough into 1 inch balls; roll in confectioners’ sugar.

DSCF2658

Store whisky balls in an airtight container for 2 to 3 days to develop flavor. Roll them again in confectioners’ sugar before serving.
DSCF2659

A couple caveats to this recipe.  First, it takes some time and effort to crush the vanilla wafers.  I think this is the most time consuming part of the recipe.  If you have a food processor, most definitely use it.  Second, as you are rolling up the balls, you will need to wash your hands quite frequently as the mixture tends to gum up on the palms of your hands.

I hope you try out this recipe if you don’t have a similar one already.  It’s a great treat to have around this time of year, and can make a very nice hostess gift if you pop some in a mason jar and decorate it up nice with a piece of cloth or ribbon.

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Comfort Cuisine, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Comfort Cuisine – Cocoa Whisky Balls

  1. These cocoa whiskey balls look great! I love whiskey. I’m definitely going to make these! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Looks awesome! Maybe a great substitude for real booze during my self-imposed prohibition!
    Cheers,
    Micky

  3. Oh wow, these look fantastic. 🙂

Please let me know what you think

