Ese’s Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge – Memories

When I see the word ‘Memory’ or ‘Memories’ my thoughts always seem to go to the very powerful song from the musical CATS.  And thinking about the song always brings tears to my eyes.  If I could have one wish it would be that all the lovely little fur babies out there could have a loving home, be taken care of and spend their days in the sun.

Memory

Midnight
Not a sound from the pavement
Has the moon lost her memory?
She is smiling alone
In the lamplight
The withered leaves collect at my feet
And the wind begins to moan

Memory
All alone in the moonlight
I can smile at the old days
Life was beautiful then
I remember
The time I knew what happiness was
Let the memory live again

Every street lamp
Seems to beat a fatalistic warning
Someone mutters and the street lamps gutters
And soon it will be morning

Daylight
I must wait for the sunrise
I must think of a new life
And I mustn’t give in
When the dawn comes
Tonight will be a memory too
And a new day will begin

Burnt out ends of smoky days
The stale cold smell of morning
The street lamp dies, another night is over
Another day is dawning

Touch me
It’s so easy to leave me
All alone with my memory
Of my days in the sun
If you touch me
You’ll understand what happiness is
Look, a new day has begun

Written by T.S. Eliot, Andrew Lloyd Weber, Trevor Nunn

These are some of the kitties that have graced my life.

Zena Sprawls 0003

Sena.  All she ever wanted was a warm spot in the sun and to be left alone.

DSCF1872

Phantom.  She was very regal and she knew it.  Some of the most beautiful markings I had ever seen.

Onex,  kitten 002

Onyx.  She was the strangest cat I ever had.  She was born feral but took to domestic life pretty well.  She was a shredder though (of rodents, not furniture).

DSCF2594b

Ginger.  My current charge.  She is a very gentle soul who just wants to lay on my arm all day.

To see more wonderful contributions to this week’s challenge head over to Ese’s Voice.

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Ginger, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ese’s Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge – Memories

  1. Leya says:

    Such lovely cats! Personalities all of them – as cats are…As a child I always had a cat, but then my husband didn’t like cats…(they did awful things to his books, he claimed…)…so dogs are now my life. It would be great fun with a cat too.

  2. ledrakenoir says:

    So cute, very well captured… 🙂

  3. acuriousgal says:

    Oh, I love all your cats!!! Wish I could have one, hubby says no ……boo hoo

  4. Imagineer says:

    What sprung to my mind when I saw this was…
    Soft kitty,
    Warm kitty,
    Little ball of fur.
    Happy kitty,
    Sleepy kitty,
    Purr, purr, purr.
    – the big bang theory. Nice pictures. 🙂

  5. Ese' s Voice says:

    All of them so different, with their own character, yet so beautiful. I have one of my own…or more like she has me 🙂
    PS: I am sorry there was no challenge last Sunday. I have been on the road constanty for almost 2 weeks but I promise the challenge will be back this weekend again.

Please let me know what you think

