Short Skirt Long Jacket

So today’s Daily Prompt is Style Icon.  My style these days could best be described as construction grunge.  Not much to write about and certainly nothing I would really want to share.  But way back in the late 1990’s there was a television series call The Pretender.  And the antagonist, Miss Parker, had the most fantastic style.  I fell in love with that look, and I did my best over the ensuing years to copy that style.  The short skirt and long jacket.  Of course, my place of employment did not agree that it was an appropriate workplace fashion statement.  What did they know.  Miss Parker and I were ahead of our times.  Anyway, this Youtube video of clips of Miss Parker set to the song by Cake is a perfect example of Style Icon.  I hope you enjoy it.

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Creative Non Fiction, Stream of Consciousness, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Short Skirt Long Jacket

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. I started singing this song as soon as I saw the title of your post. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Style icon | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: Mr. Cotton And Me Feeding Squirrels | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. I remember that series, and I must agree Miss parker did have a wonderful style.

  7. much older sister says:

    Loved this. You know we both share a love of long jackets and “not so short skirts” for me. We need more Ms. Parker.

    • I don’t have any of the outfits anymore (sheds tear), but maybe I can scrounge some of the second hand shops and find something just for the fun of it. Glad you liked the post. It was funny that the prompt came right after we talked about this.

  8. Pingback: Boots! | Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  9. Pingback: Boots! | Daily Prompt: Style Icon | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Please let me know what you think

