Snow Daze

DSCF2948a

I’m sure everyone’s heard the expression “not enough sense to come in out of the rain”.  Well, change rain to snow and you would be talking about me.  Winter has finally arrived in the Pacific Northwest, and I wanted to get out in it.  Never mind that the winds are blowing between 20 and 30 miles per hour with gusts above 40.  Never mind the temperatures are in the teens and 20’s.  The Mid West has it much worse.  I have nothing to complain about.  Now I’m back inside, nursing cold fingers and toes, and two ear aches to boot.  Yes, I was wearing a hat.  But it was all in the name of photography.  Suffering in the name of art.  Okay, it’s getting thicker inside than it is outside.  But I think I caught some very nice pictures.

These storms started out innocently enough.

DSCF2919

But it didn’t take long for the snow to start accumulating.

DSCF2922

Round one ended and I took a brief walk.

DSCF2931

But round two was winding up.

DSCF2928

And it’s looked to be just as bad if not a little worse.  I do like how the flakes reflected the light from the flash.

DSCF2937

Now we’re in the middle of round three and I head out again to see how everything looks.  Snow covered creeks are always so pretty.

DSCF2943

The snow is definitely starting to get deeper.

DSCF2945

And the snow.  So beautiful! So delicate! So photogenic!  I had never before actually seen individual snow flakes.  You know, like the ones the professional photographers capture; sometimes with really special lenses.  Well, I captured some.  The quality isn’t great, but there is no denying the beauty of these little ice crystals.

DSCF2951

DSCF2948

Well, there you have it.  A taste of a Pacific Northwest snow storm.  I might be back later when the real fun starts – freezing rain.  Woo Hoo!  Will probably have a power outage from that.  But hey, there’s food in the fridge, and whisky on the shelf.  I think we’re good to go.  And since we’ve no place to go . . .  let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Creative Non Fiction, Photography, Stream of Consciousness, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Snow Daze

  1. Al says:

    They are magnificent shots, Princess. My favourite is the brook in the snow. I don’t know why, but I have always loved things like that

  2. much older sister says:

    Stay warm and cozy with your whiskey bottle nearby. Miss you.

    • Sorry it took so long. We decided to try to get the truck out, and with a little effort we did. So we got some creamer then went to visit Poncho’s sister. It’s a mess out there. But we are safe and dry. Hugs and Kisses

  3. It just started snowing here too. 🙂

  4. Wow I love it – fantastic capture of the icicles. Some of them look just like the steering wheel, is it called the helm (?) of a boat.

Please let me know what you think

