Sunday Afternoon

Okay, I’ll admit it.  I am a big, fat, wuss when it comes to freezing rain.  I don’t like it.  Not one bit.  I am in awe of every single person who struggles through heroically in the Midwest and Northeast.  I don’t know how you do it.  My hat’s off to you.

DSCF2995

Last night and today, we have had a spot of bad weather.  Rain, sleet, freezing rain with a couple snow flakes thrown in for good measure.  I don’t know what happened.  Friday was spectacular; warm and sunny.  Even Ginger got out on the roof and basked in the sun for about an hour.  To say she is not a happy kitty today would be an understatement.  She looks outside then turns to me and says things I cannot repeat in public.  If you’re a cat parent, you know what I’m talking about.

DSCF2994

Once again, we had to move the vehicles up out of our gully so that the falling ice, branches, and heaven forbid a tree would not damage them.  So far no trees have come down on the lane.  But Poncho did hear a tree come down while he was scraping the ice off the car.  I think there’s a joke somewhere in that;  if a tree falls in the woods and no one hears it, is it still the man’s fault?

Anyhoo, the vehicles are once more safe, the cat is sleeping in a cubby hole somewhere, we’ve got buckets of water in the tub in case the power goes out (here in the country, no power means no water pump, which means no water), and I am wishing I were someplace warm, preferably with an alcoholic beverage served by a cute cabana boy.

Well, the power is now fluxing, so I better post this before the power completely goes.  And I need to see if Poncho will fix me a drink.

Cheers from the wet and wild Pacific Northwest.

DSCF2998

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Cabin, Creative Non Fiction, Photography, Stream of Consciousness, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunday Afternoon

  1. bikerchick57 says:

    I pressed the “like” button, but it’s more of a dislike. I hate freezing rain. Would much rather have snow. Hope you thaw out.

  2. much older sister says:

    The only thing worse than freezing rain is a couple of inches of snow and then freezing rain on top. Yes it does happen here in the sunny (sometimes) South. In the 70’s today and by Thursday we may have some white stuff. Here’s looking to the middle of March when most of the cold weather has bid us farewell. Stay warm and cozy.

    • No kidding about that snow/freezing rain mix. Last storm was like that. Just so dangerous to be out in it. While long range forecasts are calling for a warmer drier spring and summer, I’m going to take a wait and see approach. I am very anxious to start my garden seeds so as to have them three months old when I can plant. Maybe in the next couple of weeks.

  3. Leya says:

    …but it’s beautiful…

  4. Ugh, I hate freezing rain! I’d rather deal with snow… Hope you have a fantastic drink from Poncho by your side tonight. 🙂

Please let me know what you think

