Twenty-One Things I Irrationally Hate

The incredible, talented, inspirational Ericka Clay at tipsylit.com posted her 21 Things I Irrationally Hate,  which inspired me to steal her idea and write a list of my own.  Go check out her blog.

Twenty-One Things I Irrationally Hate

1.  High heeled sneakers.  What???

2.  ‘Baby On Board’ signs in vehicles.  That’s like waving a red flag in front of a bull to me.

3.  The word ‘Absolutely’.  People try making their comments or opinions carry more weight by using this overused word.  Once in a fit of irritation, I counted the times this word was used in an interview that lasted less than ten minutes.  The interviewee used it fifteen times.  Ugh!

4.  The girl in high school who never, ever wore the same outfit twice.  Yeah, I noticed.

5.  Will Farrell.  He just creeps me out.  Which I think is the point.

6.  Clowns.

7.  People who know how to do the Electric Slide.  I’m jealous.

8.  Fifty Shades of Grey.

9.  Pajamas worn in public.

10. People who don’t drink.  I just don’t trust them.

11. Weight scales.

12. Watermelon.  It’s a texture thing.

13. People who can throw on a sweatshirt and look like they’re ready to walk down the red carpet.  Yeah, Ericka, I noticed.

14. Emails that have a bunch of irrelevant questions that you are supposed to answer then pass it on to ten people with a link back to the person who sent it to you.

15. Bras.  Had to copy this one because, well, BRAS!

16. People who write ‘LOL’ after every sentence.  Is everything a joke?

17. Cabbage Patch dolls.

18. The word ‘Awesome’.  Another overused word that people misuse every time.  Little Johnny making a goal in the pee wee soccer game is not awe-inspiring.

19. The letter ‘Y’.  I can never write it out.

20. Jeans that don’t fit.  Or worse, mommy jeans.

21. People who think that Jethro Tull is just a member of the band.  Okay, had to steal this from the movie Armageddon.  But it’s still true.

 

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Creative Non Fiction, Stream of Consciousness, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Twenty-One Things I Irrationally Hate

  1. Ericka Clay says:

    You even got my full name right! “The incredible, talented, inspirational Ericka Clay”!
    Number 10 and 13 are my favorite. 10 because it’s the truth and 13 because it involves me.

  2. Ok, you two, this was AWESOME! ABSOLUTELY AWESOME! But people who don’t drink? My wife doesn’t drink and I trust her, especially to get us home safely when I have a glass of wine over dinner!

  3. djmatticus says:

    Yes, everything is absolutely an awesome joke! LOL! 😛 But, I’m the jester, so I can pull it off, right? No? Dang… *hangs head in shame* I’ll just go sit quietly in the corner then, while drinking because I’m So Happy It’s Thursday!

  4. theinnerzone says:

    These were so fun to read! I should sit in the corner too, as far as #10 is concerned 🙂

  5. bikerchick57 says:

    #10. Werd. (totally agree)

  6. Haha you say it’s irrational but I’d argue that you have some completely logical arguments for hating most of these! High heeled sneakers definitely deserve the top spot… are you trying to dress up or dress down? Are you trying to look trashy or… well…you do look trashy… there I said it! 😛

  7. J. Raven says:

    I probably overuse the word “Awesome” so I will begin using one of the following – feel free to weigh-in.
    1.) Jolly good! (I’m from the Midwest U.S. so the accent doesn’t work but – hey)
    2.) Sweet! (I’ll drag it out from time to time….sweeeeeeet!)
    3.) Boom! (nuff said)
    4.) Random expletives (because we need more of them….and I’m usually drinking so….)

    Thoughts?

    • I really like ‘Jolly-good’. It lends an air of aristocracy to any conversation. Sweeeeeet is also a very good choice. I never used ‘Boom’. I think it was after my time. Of course an appropriate placed expletive always works. My over used favorites are: Cool, Duuuuuuude, and Bitchin’.

Please let me know what you think

