Overly Attached

Dear Diary,

Why do I keep torturing myself over Richard?  It’s been a month and I am still hung up on him.  Why can’t I just let it go.  Move on.  Start dating again.  I’m sure he has.  But nooooo.  Here I am in this lonely apartment, remembering every moment we spent here together.  I still sniff the shirt he left behind before going to bed.  It still smells of him.  How pathetic is that?  I go from room to room half expecting him to be there.  It’s like I’m chasing a ghost.  Except I’m the one doing the haunting.  I’m haunting the memory of what once was.  If anything, I’ve become a ghost.  A ghost of the living.  It just hurts so damn much.  Was I that difficult?  I don’t think so.  I just wanted to be with him you know.  Isn’t that what couples are suppose to do – be with each other?  Why did he say he was feeling smothered.  It wasn’t like I was stalking him.  So I surprised him at work to see if he wanted to grab some lunch.  I thought he would appreciate the spontaneity.  But he didn’t.  In fact he was really upset.  I don’t understand why.  And why didn’t he want to come with me to Angela’s party?  I thought we had reached that stage where we  went to friends’ functions together.  Was two weeks together too soon?  I just don’t get it.  Maybe I could call him.  Just to see how it’s going.  Yeah, I’ll call in the morning.  Maybe we could get a coffee.  Thanks Diary, you have always been there for me.  Always so easy to talk to.

Devoted to you, Amy

–   –   –   –   –

This little sojourn into creepiness brought to you by Inspiration Monday.  What can I say, it’s what popped into my head.  I blame the rainy weather.

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

CARDIAC ARREST

FINGERLESS

GHOST OF THE LIVING

WASHING MACHINE

FRIDGE MONSTER

Want to share your Inspiration Monday piece? Post it on your blog and then give me the link in the comments below (I’ll also love you more if you link back to me); I’ll include a link to your piece in the next Inspiration Monday post. No blog? Email your piece to me at stephanie (at) bekindrewrite (dot) com. (I do reserve the right to NOT link to a piece as stated in my Link Discretion Policy.)

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Overly Attached

  1. djmatticus says:

    Nice use of the prompt. 😀

  2. Tara R. says:

    The first blush of a stalker? Yes, a little creepy. Nicely done.

  3. Entertaining writing there, Princess! It sucked me in from the first sentence. (Now I want to know what is going on in Richard’s mind)!!

  4. Dear Richard,

    Start thinking about a restraining order.

    Sincerely,
    Diary

    Hehehe. A creepy one, and fun!

  5. elmowrites says:

    nice touch of insanity there, I like how sympathetic you make her at first and then, not so much! If I could offer a concrit, I think you could improve the flow by using contractions more (I’m, I’d etc). This is something I’m terrible at, so I’m passing on the lesson!

    • Good catch. I’m terrible at that when I write. I try to be aware of it, especially when writing dialogue, but during stream of consciousness it just comes out stiff. I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

  6. Not stiff at all. I was sucked in and thought this was really you! I’ve been through this- yeah even guys go through this kind of creepiness; feeling rejected and not understanding why and hanging on for way too long. Of course, that was when I was younger!

Please let me know what you think

