Night Watch

Slap . . . slap . . . gurgle . . . splash . . . gurgle.

I listened to the incessant noise of the waves hitting the sides of the sailboat as it laid at anchor in the middle of the lake.  The soft rocking motion was soothing, but not to the point of lulling me to sleep.

Splash . . . gurgle . . . slap . . . splash . . . gurgle.

The cabin interior was lit by a small light in the galley; just enough to keep the inky blackness of night at bay, but barely enough to allow movement without stubbing a toe.

Gurgle . . . splash . . . slap . . . gurgle . . . slap.

I sat up on my elbows.  I had finally learned to not sit fully upright after several painful head bonks as the bed was situated in the bow of the boat.  I scootched to the foot and stood up.  My knees and hips automatically became fluid shock absorbers so that my upper body did not sway with the motion of the boat.

Splash . . . gurgle . . . slap . . . slap . . .splash.

I found my way to the galley and procured a half full bottle of red wine and a glass.  I stepped through the hatch into the almost absolute darkness of the summer night.  The big dipper was almost unrecognizable with all the other stars that shone with no competition from urban light pollution.  The Milky Way streaked across the heavens.

Slap . . . splash . . . gurgle . . . gurgle . . . slap.

I sat down and wrapped a wool blanket around me.  I poured my glass full and took a sip.  An owl, somewhere on a distant shore called out into the night.  Frogs croaked out in their mating rituals.  And the water, ever moving, caressed the sailboat.  I took another sip, smiled, and listened to the glassy dark.

–   –   –   –   –   –

It has been quite some time since I posted anything.  Chaulk it up to beautiful weather, endless chores, and life.  There have been many wonderful prompts, but I’ve simply not had the time to give them my full attention.  Jeremy’s Daily Prompt gave me the opportunity to write something very quickly.  I hope you enjoy.

The idea of these challenges is to use the given prompts to create a piece of flash fiction (100-200 words) or a poem (14-20 lines)

As a poet I read a lot of poetry and some more on top. I also find one line taken out of context can lead to a whole new dimension of creativity. The idea of this challenge therefore is to create what comes to mind from lines of poetry.

This week’s lines of poetry are:

  • pulling the shade down on an afternoon – Fall Parties by Becca Klaver
  • And listen to the glassy dark – Vision by Robert Penn Warren
  • Hope woven with despair – Summer Ending by David Middleton

If you use this prompt please link back

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Night Watch

  1. Much Older Sister says:

    So good to see you writing again.
    Very funny card

  2. Much Older Sister says:

    Thanks to R & J, I’ve discovered Malbec.

  3. This is all the more special as the prompt inspired you to write again. Lovely descriptions really take the reader there

    Regards
    Jez

Please let me know what you think

