Rawr!

“That looks so cool!” exclaimed Amber.

“I know,” answered Tiffany as she looked down at the new tattoo on her hip.  The pink and purple baby dragon smiled back at her in the reflection of the bathroom mirror.

“How much did it cost?”

“Two hundred and fifty bucks.”

“Wow, where’d you get that kind of money.”

“Mostly from my grandma.  She sends a birthday check every year.”

Tiffany raised up her iPhone to snap a shot of her tattoo.  Just as the flash went off a loud voice came from the doorway.  “Tiffany Marie Johnson!!! What in God’s name have you done?” her father roared.

Amber bolted past Mr. Johnson, down the stairs and out the door.  Tiffany backed up against the bathroom counter in an attempt to put a few feet distance between herself and her very upset father.

“Daddy!?!”  Tiffany began.  She had practiced this speech for weeks before she had the ink done, but now her voice wavered.  “I . . . I . . . I”m eighteen now.  I have the right to get a tattoo.  I didn’t need your permission.  I’m . . . I’m an adult now.”

“Oh really,” Mr. Johnson replied.  He crossed his arms in front of him as he continued to stand in the doorway blocking Tiffany’s ability to flee.

“Besides,” Tiffany continued, finding some courage and pointing to her father’s arm.  “You have a tattoo.  More than one.”

Mr. Johnson smiled, but there was no warmth in it.  “Yes, I do.  I got them when I was in the Navy, overseas, fighting for our country.”

“Well, that’s irrelevant where you got them.  You can’t be a hypocrite.  I got this and I like it.  I’m old enough now to do these sorts of things.”

His smile became even bigger.  “Yes, I suppose you are.  In that case I guess we should start expecting rent from you.  Since you’re an adult now, it’s the responsible thing to do.”

Tiffany’s eyes grew big.  “Daddy, that’s not fair.”

Mr. Johnson turned back towards the hall.  “Life’s not fair, cupcake.  Wait till your Mom see that.  You’re gonna give her burned out eyes.”
“Oh God, Daddy,” Tiffany squealed as she followed him out of the bathroom.  “Please don’t tell her.  She’ll kill me.”

“Yes, yes she will.”

inmon-badge-c4

–   –   –   –   –   –

Courtesy of Stephanie’s Inspiration Monday.

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

STUCK IN THE MUSIC

HAUNTED BOOK

UNDER THE WALL

BURNED OUT EYES

CONSTRUCTION PAPER

Want to share your Inspiration Monday piece? Post it on your blog and link back to today’s post; I’ll include a link to your piece in the next Inspiration Monday post. No blog? Email your piece to me at bekindrewrite (at) yahoo (dot) com. (I do reserve the right to NOT link to a piece as stated in my Link Discretion Policy.)

.

About princessdeloso

I do many things. I even write about some of them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rawr!

  1. djmatticus says:

    Hahahaha
    Love it.
    Burned out eyes.
    I thought about using that prompt too… but, mine would have been a bit darker. 😉

    • I had a couple dark ideas too, especially after a movie we watched the other night. But this little story popped into my head today and I went with it.

      • djmatticus says:

        I had someone actually request that I write some happier stories for awhile.
        Actually two people.
        I’m not forcing the words, but I am going to try to stay away from the more sinister twists.
        The only movie I can think of for burned out eyes is the third Matrix movie…

      • The movie we watched is called “Sunshine”. It’s about a mission to the sun to get it kick started again. The movie stared Cillian Murphy (Scarcrow from Batman Begins) and Mark Strong (Lord Blackwood from Sherlock Holmes). For not being popularly received it’s really pretty good.

      • djmatticus says:

        sounds interesting… and those are two fine actors. I do believe I’ll have to check it out.

      • That’s what sold me. I enjoy both of their works.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Classic dad-act! Sounds like the right solution for this “adult”, too. Enjoyed! : )

  3. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: Dark Mirror - bekindrewrite

Please let me know what you think